teacher and studentsThe mission of the UM&HSA English Department is to promote literacy and create opportunities for students to express themselves and think critically, while balancing the academic rigor needed for students to apply their literary experiences beyond UM&HSA to become confident and strong global citizens.

The following are course offerings in 6-12 grades:

  • 6-8 English Language Arts
  • Pre-AP English 1 (9th grade)
  • 10 - 12 English Composition and Literature
  • Advanced Placement Capstone Program:  AP Seminar and AP Research
  • Advanced Placement English Language and Composition
  • Advanced Placement English Literature and Composition

Our expectation is that students’ experiences in the English classroom at The U will result in above average performance on ACT, SAT, and Advanced Placement (AP) exams due to both the quality and efficacy of our English curriculum.

English Language Arts Department Teacher Photo

Lorri Lewis
English Language Arts Teacher
Department Chairperson
lorri.lewis@southfieldk12.org  
  

Lorri Lewis

Holly Eovaldi
English Language Arts Teacher
holly.eovaldi@southfieldk12.org

Torrie Maas
English Language Arts Teacher
Testing Coordinator
torrie.maas@soutfield12.org  
Ms. Maas Website  

Torrie Mass

Natasha McKenzie
English Language Arts Teacher
natasha.mckenzie@southfieldk12.org
Ms. McKenzie Website

Natasha McKenzie

Erika Nelson
English/Spanish Teacher
erika.nelson@southfieldk12.org  

Erika Nelson

Camille Orse-Simpson
English Language Arts Teacher UMSA
camille.orse-simpson@southfieldk12.org
Camille Orse-Simpson

Ruth Peek
English Language Arts Teacher
ruth.peek@southfieldk12.org
 

Ruth Peek

 

ELA Claims and Targets

Course Descriptions